Posted by: bandaidchild | May 15, 2010

Who is Your Jiminy?

Well… guess he won’t need me anymore. What does an actor want with a conscience, anyway?

Oh Jiminy Cricket. You all remember Pinocchio, right? It was made in the 1940’s about a little wooden dude who turns into a boy, and then, as he is exposed to the “real world”, is confronted with all sorts of temptations, and folks who pose as friends. Convincing as they are, he thankfully has a side-kick who acts as his conscience, Jiminy Cricket. He’s an old soul who tries to guide Pinocchio to make the right decisions, but is flicked off Pinocchio’s proverbial shoulder many, many times.

It got me thinking about the people who are Jiminy in my life.

People like My surrogate parents.

And Deb.

And Alece.

And Charlie and Leah.

And my own parents, who’ve taught me so well.

These are people who have been (and are), in very real ways, Jesus to me. They have helped act as a conduit of His Truth. They know when I’m gonna tell a big fat lie and it’s going to show all over my face.

The cool thing about that Cricket is that he never forces his friend to make the right decision. In fact, he lets Pinocchio fail often. Failing leads to insight, if you want to change anyway.

I’ve had friends who have gently let me fail. And I’ve had friends I’ve flicked off my shoulder because they were right. And it annoyed me.

And then I thought about the Holy Spirit. And how He acts like our Jiminy. In a much holier way, of course.

A man I once looked up to taught me this illustration that I’ve never forgotten about sluffing off the Holy Spirit.

Picture for a minute, a tube, upright, like this: I  I  with a square inside of it. Each time we grieve the Holy Spirit, that little square turns a quarter of an inch or so. It jabs you; like somebody socked you in the gut. Over time, though, that square turns enough times to round its own edges off. What felt like a Kidney shot now feels like somebody thinking that stabbing with you straw might be lethal.

This is what happens when we flick off Jiminy. When we ignore our “conscience”, whether it is the Holy Spirit’s conviction, or a friend acting as a conduit to such, we get less and less burdened over hurting God. Eventually, that square inside the tube isn’t a square anymore but a circle, which rotates freely, without any sort of friction.

And you feel nothing.

Nobody ever said the Jiminy Crickets in your life would be the epitome of cool. But you should thirst for truth to be spoken in your life. It should jab you when you ignore it.

Come to think of it, crickets are annoying. They make the most awful little sounds with their legs (which probably woo the cricket ladies), and they hide in the sneakiest of spots, where you can’t even kill them if you tried because you can’t find them.

I hope you have some Crickets in your life, though, because without them you would be unbelievably numb to things that hurt you.

Proverbs 3:5-6 says, (Amplified Version used here)

5Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding.

6In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.

I hope one day I get exhausted from flicking help (truth) off my shoulder, and have a firm understanding of how my arrogance has left me numb at times that I learn what true trust means.

-Becca

Leave a Reply

Categories

