Posted by: bandaidchild | July 15, 2010

The time I forgot.

Once upon a time, there was a girl.

She placed too much worth in her job, and clung too tightly to stability. She sought wisdom, and realized that she had a whole mess of issues to deal with, and determined to start working on them. She did, and things began to get better because she was seeking God’s face, not her own.

Then, in a matter of a week or so, everything that was unstable in her life came together in a waterfall of blessings. She was overwhelmed and thankful.

and then she forgot. About Jesus.

in the wee hours of the morning on this day, she was given this poking from the holy spirit, and now? She is ashamed. She is ashamed because she treated God like a genie.

But for the first time in her relationship with God, she understands God is full of grace, mercy, and… jealousy.

And so now she is asking God to show her weaknesses, to show her how she is in desperate need of him, and to put her in her place.

I am so thankful that He wants to know me, and that His Word stands true, and that He is ever-present, and that I am nothing.

Responses

  1. You are more than nothing…you are the daughter of the King. He loves you and is totally thrilled that you are actively seeking to please Him. Thanks for letting me peek into your heart.

  2. …true that, Mom.

    Your post describes why I need “hard” in my life. As soon as I’m without it… my awareness of my need for Him becomes over-lookable. And then I really fall flat on my face in screw-ups.

  3. makes me think of the song “How He Loves”…

    “He is jealous for me…”

    and girl… you are praying some dangerous prayers. i love how your reckless faith kicked in the moment awareness did.


Leave a Reply

Categories

